
MERCER COUNTY BOARD OF ASSESSMENT APPEALS 

APPEAL PROCEDURES, RULES AND REGULATIONS 

A property owner has the right, under Pennsylvania law, to appeal their assessments if the owner 

believes that the assessment is not fair or uniform with other assessments, or at Fair Market 

Value.   

A property owner may appeal the assessment as long as the appeal is properly filed in compliance 

with the Appeal Procedures, Rules and Regulations of the Mercer County Board of Assessment 

Appeals. 

TIME FOR FILING  

Annual Appeals 

All annual appeals of real estate assessments must be properly filed with the Board of 

Assessment Appeals no later than 4:30 p.m., prevailing time, on or before September 1.  The 

request to appeal document shall designate the assessment appealed and the address to which 

the Board of Assessment Appeals shall mail notice of when and where the property owner is to 

appear for a hearing.  Any appeal notice received after the filing date, whether the same was 

mailed prior thereto, will be rejected as untimely filed. 

Administrative Appeals 

All assessment appeals filed from a new or change of assessment during the year must be 

received within forty (40) days of the date of the Assessment Change Notice.   Any appeal 

notice received or postmarked after the filing date will be rejected as untimely filed. 

PLACE FOR FILING  

A notice of appeal from the assessment of real estate shall be filed with the Assessment Office 

of Mercer County, 4 Mercer County Courthouse, Mercer, Pennsylvania 16137.   Appeals may be 

filed by mail, subject to the Time for Filing rules listed above.  Appeals may also be filed in 

person at the Mercer County Courthouse, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, between 

the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., prevailing time. 

SIGNING APPEAL FORM  

An assessment appeal shall be executed by the property owner of record or an authorized 

representative of the owner, or a lessee responsible for payment of real estate.    If a 

corporation, the assessment appeal shall be executed by an officer of said corporation stating 

the title of the officer, or by a duly authorized employee of the corporation which shall be 

accompanied by a verified (see 18 PaCS Section 4904) certification that he is authorized to act 



on behalf of the corporation.  In all cases in which a partnership or sole proprietorship is the 

owner of record, a partner shall execute the assessment appeal.   When the subject of the 

appeal is leased property, the Lessee may sign the appeal but shall submit a copy of the lease. 

FILING FEE 

For all assessment appeals filed after September 1, 2017, the appropriate fee must accompany 

the assessment appeal filing.  Failure to include the appropriate fee will constitute an improper 

filing and a hearing will not be scheduled.   Checks should be made payable to Mercer County 

Tax Assessment. No fee shall be refunded.  

 Residential Assessment Appeal   $25.00 

 Exempt Assessment Appeal    $50.00 

 Commercial Assessment Appeal   $100.00 

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE  

In cases in which the property owner will not attend the hearing of assessment appeal, his 

authorized representative shall produce a Power of Attorney executed by the property owner 

and verifying the representative’s authority to appear and to act on behalf of the property 

owner.   

 

APPEAL HEARING AND PRESENTATION 

PURPOSE OF HEARING 

The issue at stake in any appeal is the Fair Market Value of the subject property.  Fair Market 

Value has been defined as “the price that a willing, but not obligated buyer, would pay to a 

willing, but not obligated seller, all uses being taken into consideration and offered on the open 

market for a reasonable period of time.”  Fair Market Value can best be proved by: 

 An appraisal made by a certified appraiser. 

 Recent sales of similar properties. 

PRESUMPTION OF VALUE 

The law presumes the assessor’s value to be correct until proven otherwise by the property 

owner; therefore, the property owner has the burden of presenting evidence to the Board of 

Assessment Appeals to substantiate his/her opinion of market value.  An appeal opens the 

property assessment for re-evaluation.  AS A RESULT OF AN APPEAL, THE PROPERTY’S 

ASSESSMENT MAY, BY LAW, BE LOWERED, RAISED, OR REMAIN THE SAME. 



 

LAND AND BUILDING ASSESSMENT 

In the case of an assessment which included both land and building values, testimony will be 

accepted concerning the total value only.  The Board of Assessment Appeals will not consider 

the appeal of either land or building as separated from the total. 

COMPARING ASSESSMENTS 

If your appeal is based upon comparison to another property, you must be prepared to submit 

a list of comparison properties that were recently sold.  The information should be submitted in 

writing and include details of the compared properties and their selling price.  If you fail to 

provide this information, it will not be researched for you at the hearing.  You must perform 

your research prior to that time.  Assessment Office records are available for this purpose.  No 

alleged comparable properties will be considered unless they are properties that have recently 

sold at an arms-length sale. 

ABILITY TO PAY TAXES 

Testimony regarding taxes, tax increases, percentage of assessment increases, financial ability 

to pay, and related concerns will not be permitted.  The sole matter at issue is the value of the 

property. 

PROCEDURE AT HEARING 

At all hearings, the Board of Assessment Appeals will hear such evidence as may be produced 

by the property owner and other interested parties.  Persons testifying will be required to 

testify under oath.  During the appeal hearing, the property owner or his agent shall state the 

basis of the property owner’s appeal and shall make a full and complete disclosure of property 

owner’s information bearing on the property’s fair market value.  The Board of Assessment 

Appeals may examine the property owner or witnesses appearing on the property owner’s 

behalf and may require the property owner to furnish additional information or data for 

consideration in arriving at an opinion of fair market value.   

ORDER OF THE BOARD OF ASSESSMENT APPEALS 

The Order of the Board of Assessment Appeals shall be entered in the minutes by the Board of 

Assessment Appeals, and a copy of such Order shall be delivered to the person who appealed, 

either in person or by mail, to the address shown on the statement of intention to appeal 

within five days after the hearing on such appeal.  The Chief Assessor and such assistant 

assessors as he or the Board of Assessment Appeals may designate, shall attend each hearing 

and shall furnish the Board of Assessment Appeals with such information relating to the 

assessment appealed from, as the Board of Assessment Appeals my desire.  Either the Board of 

Assessment Appeals or the person appealing may call such witnesses as they desire and as may 



be permitted under the Rules of the Board of Assessment Appeals; the Board of Assessment 

Appeals may examine such witnesses under oath.  For the purposes of examining witnesses, 

any member of the Board of Assessment Appeals shall be competent to administer oaths. 

WRITTEN PRESENTATION 

All evidence must be presented to the Assessment Office (Board of Assessment Appeals) at 

least 10 days prior to the scheduled hearing.   

PRESENTATION TIME ALLOTMENT 

The Board of Assessment Appeals will allow adequate time for your appeal.  If your appeal 

involves multiple or commercial, industrial, etc. properties, additional time may be allotted.   

EVIDENCE 

The Board of Assessment Appeals will not be bound by the strict rules of evidence normally 

applied in the Courts.  The Board of Assessment Appeals may at its discretion, hear any and all 

evidence which it considers probative and helpful in deciding the appeal.  A record owner of 

property under consideration may offer his opinion of its value, either orally or in writing.  The 

Board of Assessment Appeals will not receive valuation testimony from anyone other than an 

owner, unless a complete and written appraisal report upon which such testimony shall be 

based has been filed with the Board of Assessment Appeals in accordance to these Rules. 

If you allege that the market value is excessive, you must be prepared to document your 

opinion by accepted appraisal processes, i.e. Cost, Market and/or Income Approaches.  A 

professionally prepared appraisal will be acceptable in lieu of this information.  If you allege 

that the value in your area is being adversely affected by a certain nuisance or other factor, you 

must be prepared to document the impact of this problem through use of market sales. 

RULE OF CONDUCT 

All parties will be required to exercise proper and appropriate decorum during the hearing. 

INCOME AND EXPENSE STATEMENT 

On an appeal of commercial or industrial properties, the owner must submit an Income and 

Expense Statement for the three (3) most recent years.  The Income and Expense statement 

must be submitted not less than ten (10) days prior to the scheduled appeal hearing date. 

EXPERT WITNESS – QUALIFICATIONS 

In all cases involving expert witnesses, the written qualifications of the expert witness, including 

proof of compliance with Pennsylvania licensing and certification shall be submitted to the 

Board of Assessment Appeals prior to any testimony.  Expert witnesses shall not be permitted 



to express opinions other than those in their own report.  Failure to comply with this rule may 

constitute grounds to disqualify the witness.   

EXPERT WITNESS – FINANCIAL INTEREST 

In all assessment appeals involving commercial or industrial property in which a question of 

valuation is an issue, the property owner shall produce, before the appeal hearing, a signed 

appraisal by the certified appraiser to be relied upon by the property owner containing a 

statement whether such expert or witness has any financial interest in the property subject to 

the appeal, and whether or not terms of compensation for his testimony are based upon any 

contingent method of calculation relating to the outcome of the appeal.  If an appeal is by a 

third party, the property owner and third party must adhere to the rules and regulations.    

Appraisal, consulting, valuation report, or any other documents not meeting those 

requirements may be disregarded by the Board of Assessment Appeals as evidence of value in 

such appeals. 

PROPERTY SUBJECT TO LEASES 

In the event that any appeal shall involve a property which is subject to a lease(s), the property 

owner shall submit, to the Board of Assessment Appeals, a verified copy of the lease(s) 

containing all of its/their terms and conditions.  In the case of an apartment house, office 

building, and shopping centers, the property owner shall submit a verified copy of a typical 

lease, together with the latest rent schedule, a copy of the rent roll, showing the tenant’s 

name, unit identification, square footage leases, or bedroom and bathroom count, monthly or 

annual rent, and any additional payments made.  The property owner shall also submit the 

income and expense statements, complete with all notes and schedules for the past three (3) 

years.  These documents must be submitted not less than ten days prior to the scheduled 

hearing date. 

FAILURE TO PRODUCE DOCUMENTS 

Failure to produce documents required by these rules not less than ten (10) days prior to the 

scheduled appeal hearing date, and/or to strictly comply with the requirements for the 

execution of the notice of appeal may constitute sufficient grounds for the denial of the appeal. 

FAILURE TO APPEAR AT HEARING 

Failure of the property owner to appear at the hearing, after due notice thereof, shall be 

considered an abandonment of the appeal and will be grounds for dismissal. 

GENERAL RULES 

STATUTORY HEARING DEADLINE 



Because of County Assessment Law requirements for 4th to 8th class counties, all formal appeals 

must be completed by October 31; therefore the Board of Assessment Appeals must establish 

and maintain a strict schedule for hearings. 

INFORMAL REVIEW PROCESS 

The informal and formal review process will be conducted under the authority and direction of 

the Board of Assessment Appeals.  No change in property assessment will be done without the 

approval of the Board of Assessment Appeals. 

In any year, the Board of Assessment Appeals may, at their discretion, advertise and convene a 

continuous session of the Board of Assessment Appeals for the purpose of informally reviewing 

properties and making all necessary adjustments due to errors in the property description and 

appraisal.  These information adjustments shall be made by the Chief Assessor or her 

designates.  A final report of changes shall be made available to the public at the Assessment 

Office and shall be approved by the Board of Assessment Appeals. 

CONTINUANCE OF AN APPEAL HEARING 

The Board of Assessment Appeals may, at its discretion, grant a continuance of not more than 

thirty days of any formal hearing as long as it is agreed upon by both parties. 

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC 

All hearings on appeals before the Board of Assessment Appeal shall be open to the public and 

shall be conducted in accordance with regulations prescribed by the Board of Assessment 

Appeals. 

FIVE DAY DECISION DEADLINE 

The Board of Assessment Appeals, upon signed approval by the property owner, may waive the 

five day notice of value by the Board of Assessment Appeals.  

REQUEST FOR POSTPONEMENT 

All requests for a postponement of a hearing shall be in writing and shall be filed with the Board 

of Assessment Appeals at least ten (10) days before the date set for hearing, and shall set forth 

the grounds relied upon in support thereof. 

NOTICE OF HEARING 

Notice of the date and time of an assessment appeal hearing will be sent to the owner(s) of 

record and a third-party notice will be sent to the property owner’s attorney of record, or to an 

authorized representative only upon written request by the property owner. 

TAXING DISTRICTS 



These procedures, rules and regulations shall be applicable to appeals by taxing districts. 

 

REPEALER/ADOPTION 

All prior rules inconsistent with these rules are hereby repealed. 

Adopted this 22nd day of August, 2017 by the Mercer County Board of Assessment. 

The Board of Assessment Appeals has the right to waive any specific requirement with regard 

to these Rules and Regulations. 

Board of Assessment Appeals: 

Matthew B. McConnell 

Scott Boyd 

Timothy M. McGonigle 


